16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Guns Wanted or For Sale  ~  Model 12 vs '97
WaldoWright
PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 7:01 pm  Reply with quote

OK all you experts/historians out there. The model 12 looks very similar to my '97. How similar are they?

I'm looking for a replacement barrel for my '97 and have seen 2 model 12's for sale. Can't seem to find any '97's for sale. Are they interchangeable?

Thanks, Waldo
16gaugeguy
PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 5:42 pm  Reply with quote

Waldo, are you refering to the model "93 and '97. the model 12 is a hammerless, very modern looking design. The '93 and '97 are squarish and have exposed hammers. The bolts also rack out the rear and cock the hammer in plain view when you pump them. The model twelve has a side port and a closed, sloped, rear. I'm no expert here but I'd know a model 12 from the other two in a heartbeat. The barrels will not interchange. I don't think the barrels of the '93 and '97 do either, but I'm not certain. Anyone know for sure?
hoashooter
PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 5:54 pm  Reply with quote

No
WaldoWright
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 10:02 am  Reply with quote

16gaugeguy wrote:
Waldo, are you refering to the model "93 and '97. the model 12 is a hammerless, very modern looking design. The '93 and '97 are squarish and have exposed hammers. The bolts also rack out the rear and cock the hammer in plain view when you pump them. The model twelve has a side port and a closed, sloped, rear. I'm no expert here but I'd know a model 12 from the other two in a heartbeat. The barrels will not interchange. I don't think the barrels of the '93 and '97 do either, but I'm not certain. Anyone know for sure?

You did describe the '97 perfectly (not familiar with the '93), but I found out what I was looking for. I'll keep looking for a '97 barrel.

Thanks,
Waldo
Tulsey
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 5:25 am  Reply with quote