16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. General Discussion  ~  beretta choke mystery
87016ga
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 5:01 pm  Reply with quote

here's one for all of you chemistry majors out there.
a buddy of mine shoots a 686 in one of those "other gauges" and left a choke tube sitting in a bottle of hoppes#9 bore solvent for "about 2 months".
when he pulled it out of the bottle, it was no longer stainless steel colored,but had turned black Exclamation we shot some skeet and 5-stand that day with no problems, but he called me a week later to tell me that when he took the tube out of the barrel to clean the gun, it was brittle and had cracked Exclamation
WHAT THE HELL Question
it's not me buy the way, i don't shoot beretta's
i've been using hoppes for almost 30 years, and never heard of this.
of course, i don't just drop chokes into a bottle and forget about them.
hoashooter
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 5:44 pm  Reply with quote

Well I ain't no college boy but I can figure this much out--
1.Anybody what leaves a choke in any solution for two plus months is an idiot.
2.What condition was it in when he put in back in the gun--this guy is no rocket scientist????
3.Mabey instead of buying another choke/gun he should spend some money on common sense lessons Twisted Evil Twisted Evil Twisted Evil I hope this ol' boy don't plan on buying a 9000H in the future Embarassed Embarassed Embarassed Shocked Shocked
87016ga
PostPosted: Sun Jul 16, 2006 7:05 pm  Reply with quote

hoa:
bud is a "salt of the earth" kind of guy who would do anything for his friends, he is hardly an idiot.
he just happens to be one of those well meaning guys who destroys everything he touches. we all know one or two.
the 686 onyx he has had for 3 years has sustained the following:
#1) cracked stock....there are better shotguns for 3" steel shot in the s.dakota goose pits than a 12ga over/under that barely weighs 7lbs, in my opinion.