16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  English guns and proof pressure
gspowner
PostPosted: Sat Aug 12, 2006 7:16 pm  Reply with quote

I am looking at older English sxs 16's and find that they often are nitro proofed for 2-1/2-3 tons/sqin or 5-6000psi. I am a member of the 16ga LPG and don't find much in that realm in the way of reloading data and nothing in the way of factory loads. For example, two factory loads that the LPG had tested are the 2-1/2in 7/8oz Polywad vintager at 9933 Psi and 2-1/2in 1oz RST vintager at 8540 Psi. The lowest pressure factory loads tested were at 7500 and 7720 psi and who knows if every lot is the same.

Anybody out there have experience with this problem? Assuming that the gun is in-proof, do you just use the lowest pressure loads you can find and not sweat the actual proof pressure?

Thanks,

Jim
Dave Miles
PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 4:09 am  Reply with quote

I'm no expert on English proof marks, but I think a 3 ton proof is more than 6000 PSI. Others know the answer for sure.

I found this from another site :
3 tons by British standards are "Long Tons" & are crusher measurements. This should be just under 9,000 psi measured by the piezo electric process.

I'll stand corrected if it's wrong. Wink
Foursquare
PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 7:38 am  Reply with quote

British ton of pressure = 2240 psi. So a 3 ton proof comes in at 6720.

I asked a similar question in the General Discussion forum titled "Proof in the pudding......". Have yet to get an answer.

Pete

" .......you have learned patience and stubbornness and concentration on what you really want at the expense of what is there to shoot. You have learned that man can as easily be debased as ennobled by a sport....."
Dave Miles
PostPosted: Sun Aug 13, 2006 10:37 am  Reply with quote

Okay guys, I might be a little slow here. But isn't 6700 PSI a little low for a 16 gauge proof pressure. The barrels on this thing must be paper thin.