16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Z 16 and Herters/cheddites
3birddogs
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 3:13 pm  Reply with quote

After loading up some 3/4oz 20 ga loads, I decided to load up the Herters/cheddite 16 shells I had shot the other night with the following load:
Universal20.2 gr
cci 209
Z-16 wad
1200 fps @ 8100 psi
1 oz 7's(not 7 1/2,s)
Even with an ounce load a cherrio or overshot card was necessary to achieve any kind of decent crimp, without it , shot would just roll out the poor crimp.
I have never used the z16 wad before, but had a bag and thought I'd use them up. The other load I would use was 18.2 gr Green Dot with the Z16.
I rarely reload more than 7/8 oz and was surprised at the poor crimps from a 1 oz load. I was going to use the # 7's on grouse this fall.
Your thoughts?

16gaugeguy
PostPosted: Sun Jul 13, 2014 6:20 pm  Reply with quote

I suggest you search the web for Baschieri & Pellagri wads. They manufacture the Z wads, and the site has a wealth of info about their products. Their wads are designed for use in any hull similar in size to the B&P hulls. They are perfectly suitable for reloading Cheddite hulls.

Essentially, B&P makes but one 16 ga wad. According to B&P, it is designed for 29 to 32 gram loads when used in a 70mm (2-3/4 inch) hull. One ounce equals 28.35 grams. This might help explain why you need filler wads for your one ounce loads.