16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Guns  ~  What's the difference between an A-5 in 16 g. and a Sweet 16
MattyD
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 6:04 am  Reply with quote

OK crew...newbie here. Need someone to educate me as to the difference between an A-5 in 16 gauge and a Sweet 16? Thanks.
dannypratt
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 6:47 am  Reply with quote

MattyD,

Ok here you go.

The Browning 16 ga. A-5 is what they call a "standard" weight, usually around 7.25-7.75 pounds, mechanically identical ( except for some older variations with shorter 2 9/16" chamber ) as the Sweet 16, cosmetically it normally has a blued trigger, however I have seen maybe 2-3 that have gold triggers. It sayd "sixteen" on the reciever. These were in production form 1903-1964 from Blegium according to my 2006 Blue Book.

The Browning Sweet 16 A-5 is lighter in weight by up to .75 of a pound than the "standard" and is clearly marked Sweet 16 on the side of the reciever. Some early models are in 2 9/16" chamberings.It has a gold trigger and you will rarely ( more like never ) find one that has a blued trigger, however I have seen 1 like this at a gun show, and it simply could have been so worn that all the gold was gone, nad the owner had simply blued it, the rest of the gun looked awful too. These had been in production from 1937-1975 from Belgium, then they were brought back in Japanese production form 1988-1992.

They are both fantastic and mechanically identical in operation. The Sweet 16 will always bring a premium over the Standard Weight model. But I find a ribless Standard Weight model to carry wonderfully.

I could write about this all day, but I have to go to church Smile
-danny
CitoriFeather16
PostPosted: Sun Sep 03, 2006 7:58 am  Reply with quote