16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Guns  ~  First 16 advice
Zagmann
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 3:09 pm  Reply with quote

Hi all,
I am looking into getting a 16ga SxS. Actually will be my first 16 and first SxS. One with hammers has me the most intrigued. Problem is that I have very little knowledge of older guns, and a limited budget (cheap) to work with. Mostly it would be used for pheasant hunting.
What to look for, what to avoid?
Any advice is welcome.
Thanks
gjw
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 3:14 pm  Reply with quote

Hello and welcome to the forum! Great folks here and very helpful. So...the first thing to help you is to narrow down a couple things. The first, what is your price range? That will help us get you started. After this we can help you find what your looking for.

Again, Welcome aboard!

Greg
skeettx
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 3:21 pm  Reply with quote

Hello Zagmann,

Welcome on your first posting
Most hammer guns were made a LONG time ago and have short chambers and softer steel barrels. Many are not up to today's pressures of modern ammo.

RST does make and sell short ammo with reduced pressures more many of these older guns

If you do get one, insist on no pitting in barrels, on face, and in great condition. In this way you will know the gun had proper care.

Again
Welcome
Mike

p.s. not much to pick from here

http://www.gunbroker.com/Side-By-Side-Shotguns/BI.aspx?Keywords=16++hammer

Last edited by skeettx on Sun Dec 21, 2014 9:09 pm; edited 1 time in total
jschultz
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 6:15 pm  Reply with quote

Hi zagmann, To my way of thinking it's the gun's weight, feel and balance that makes a 16 gauge SxS a joy to shoot. Handle as many SxS's that you can and if possible shoot the guns and let the gun choose you.
drcook
PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2014 7:50 pm  Reply with quote