16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Favorite Game Loads
joe_dumy
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 12:56 pm  Reply with quote

I am trying to gather some good info on some good loads for all the kinds of hunting I do through out the year. I shoot a variety of 16 gauges so I will list those as well so if you think a load would fit a certain gun better let me know. I reload but I would say I am still very much a beginner. I have a MEC progressive loader. I load about 150 round a week on it. Mostly for sporting clays. I have not found my favorite loads for each gun and frankly dont know where to start. If your not comfortable giving me the exact recipe then just telling the size of shot, pressure and velocity would be great. If I knew how to search the forum better I could probably find most of this. Any help or advice is welcomed. Like I said I am a newbie that is at the point of being able to adjust my Mec to turn out nice consistent loads.

Guns
Remington 31L with a Mod choke Chukar and Hun Gun
Remington 31 with a full choke Turkey, Doves
Padrone over under with a variety of chokes.

Game I hunt.
Rough Grouse
Blue grouse
Chukar
Quail
Huns
Doves
Pheasant
Turkey
Rabbit
Deer
jschultz
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 1:50 pm  Reply with quote

Good for all but pheasant and turkey.
The following recipes are for 16 GA

7/8oz shot, 16.6 grains Green dot, Win primer, Card wad with fiber filler.
7/8oz shot, 16.5 grains Unique, Win primer, Card wad with Fiber filler.
Both loads are rated at 1190fps, 2 1/2drams. Equiv.

I have not shot or patterned the 7/8 0z. green Dot load.

*3/4 or 7/8 oz shot, 18.3 grains Unique, Win primer, card wad, fiber filler.
1230fps, rated at 2 3/4 Dram. Equiv.
Load them all at about 40 lbs. pressure on the wads.
skeettx
PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2015 1:50 pm  Reply with quote

EVERYTHING you need is here

http://uk.groups.yahoo.com/group/reloading16gauge/

Enroll for FREE and visit

Mike

Charlie16ga