16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Number 7 shot size
chad
PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2015 9:36 am  Reply with quote

What is the actual hunting/killing/penetration difference between the #7 1/2 shot size and the #7? And how would the #6 shot size compare to the #7 and vice verse. I have no experience with 7's. With the hunting that I do I definitely see/notice the increased killing power of 6's vs 7 1/2's especially in small gauge firearms, like the 28ga. A lot of times the 7 1/2 just seems like not enough power, increased cripples and the dog running down wounded game. Where as the 6's knocks them dead. Would the increases pellet count of the 7's vs the 6's in 3/4oz load be worth the trouble? Would the 7's be ultimate shot size with a balance of pellet count and energy?

Last edited by chad on Sun Jan 25, 2015 10:06 am; edited 1 time in total
jschultz
PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2015 9:59 am  Reply with quote

Tough questions. Many years ago I bought a lifetime supply of #7 shot and use it for huns, chukar and mountain grouse. I have done penetration tests and don't have or remember the specifics. I built a fixture that held 20 1/4" pieces of common cardboard vertically and shot various shot sizes at the same velocity. As expected better penetration was seen in the following order #5 1/2, #6, #7 and #7 1/2. My hunting loads exclude #7 1/2, but I do use #8 for dove.
I shoot 3/4, 7/8, 1 and 1 1/8 oz loads.
Dogchaser37
PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2015 12:07 pm  Reply with quote

With no scientific proof to back me up, just experience....I have hunted and still hunt in places where you are just as likely to find quail as you are pheasants and have used #7's for the first load successfully on both. I cant say if they would kill a pheasant at longer ranges because I haven't ever used them as the second shot. But 7's will kill a pheasant out to 30 yards with no issue and quail as far as you dare to shoot at them.