16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. General Discussion  ~  Full pistol grip vs Semi-pistol grip
chopper
PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 12:11 pm  Reply with quote

Seeing the new browning 525's has got me wondering about the pro's and con's of the full curl pistol grip and it's best suited application. What's the theory behind the design? Any personal history?

Along the same lines, why is the lightning style or semi-pistol grip so popular? Is there an advantage to shooting this style of grip? I've been hunting birds and shooting clays for nearly 20 yrs now, but have not ever really looked into this.

Any references or books anyone can recommend for shotgunning technique?

chopper
Larry Brown
PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 2:30 pm  Reply with quote

Chopper, one theory says that a full PG tends to put more control of the gun into your rear hand, which is good for target shooting (that's why most target guns have them, very exaggerated ones in some cases, and even palm swells), but not so good for field or instinctive shooting style, where you want your leading hand to steer the gun. Don Zutz's book "The Double Shotgun" has a good explanation of doublegun technique, grips, etc. The round knob is sort of in between the two, but it's certainly seen more on field than target guns. Some people feel that either a straight grip or a round knob/semi-PG work better with double triggers. Your hand has a bit more reach and flexibility than with some PG's.
87016ga
PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2006 2:48 pm  Reply with quote

chopper:
i have a citori lightening with the rounded pistol grip, and since haveing lost some flexibility in my right wrist and hand , due to an accident a while back (i shoot right handed) i find that the "attack angle" gives me a quicker and easier gun mount than my rems with a standard full pistol grip.
i still manage to shoot either very well, it's just that the citori seems to come to the shoulder more naturally in field shooting conditions.