16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Greenhorn Questions
JPearcy
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 8:00 pm  Reply with quote

I'm totally new to reloading but excited to get started. I've purchased the 16 gauge reloading manual from BPI and have gathered some other reputable recipes as well. Nonetheless I have a few questions:

1. It is my understanding that I can use virtually any modern hull with any recipe. In other words the hull portion of the recipe is flexible and will not adversely affect the recipe; is that correct?

2. Does using a different primer than what the recipe calls for (ie. Remington instead of Winchester) adversely affect the recipe?

3. I've been informed that 11000PSI is the max pressure for 16GA but some recipes I've came across equate to as much as 11500PSI; should I avoid loading those pressures higher than 11,000?

I'm sure there will be more questions to follow but lets start with these.

Thanks!!
hoashooter
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 8:13 pm  Reply with quote

No-Yes-Yes
JPearcy
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 9:23 pm  Reply with quote

hoashooter wrote:
No-Yes-Yes

Would you mind to elaborate?
Winchester21
PostPosted: Wed Sep 30, 2015 10:45 pm  Reply with quote

Your best advice and information can be found in Lyman's 5th Edition for Shotgun Reloading. It will be the best value for the money spent. It has detailed sections for loading a variety of different manufacture's hulls and wads, along with various powder and primer combinations.

The main advice (CAUTION) is to keep with published data that has been thoroughly tested and proven safe. Sometimes the powder amount your equipment is able to throw may be slightly off (not an exact match) but a little smaller amount is not a problem.