16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Cheddite 2 3/4 hulls, z16 wads, 1 oz loads... Crimp issues
Msuiceman
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 6:18 pm  Reply with quote

Getting way too much free-hull to make a good crimp. Dished is an understatement... I'll check my bar to ensure its throwing 1oz of shot, maybe its short throwing.... I bought some nitro cards from bpi, but they don't really readily fit in the shot cup, so I guess I need different filler wads.

My powder is 21gr of universal.

I'm pretty new to shot shell reloading, so I apologize if its a silly question.

Anyone use this combination of components without this issue? There are loads I see with with combo, but I just fail to see how they would work.
Atepac
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 6:57 pm  Reply with quote

I believe the z16 is for hevier loads 1 1/8 and even 1 1/4 without the use of fillers. So if your not using a filler wad I would think that must to be your issue.

fn16ga
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 7:28 pm  Reply with quote

Yes check your shot drop weight and powder weight first , charge bars and bushings usually throw light . Seems like that load should fit .
fn16ga
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 7:58 pm  Reply with quote

After looking at it you may need a filler with that wad , if so 28ga card wads will fit in the shot cup under the shot . You should have about 5/16th " from the top of the shot to the end of the hull , no more than 3/8" to get a good crimp .

The SG16 wad would be a better choice no filler needed.

Cheddite 1 oz. Universal 21.7 Ched 209 BPI SG 16 1220 8,500 Hodgdon Web
Brewster11
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 9:04 pm  Reply with quote

The 1 oz. Z16 load fits perfectly in a 2 1/2" Cheddite hull, so a 2 3/4" Cheddite hull will need something to take up the empty volume. You may want to try the OB16 1/4" spacer from BPI. Or you could get Byrdog's trimmer and cut your hulls down to 2 1/2".
putz463
PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 12:51 am  Reply with quote