16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Guided snow goose hunt - need advice
UncleDanFan
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 11:13 am  Reply with quote

Going on a guided snow goose hunt in the next week or two. Shots will be close, 15-40 yds, over decoys. Going to go with 2.5" reloads out of my 16 or 12. My shot choices are nice shot 5's, or ITX 4's or #2's. Nice Shot 5's hammer roosters, but I have limited experience using them or ITX on geese. If I go with ITX 2's, I'll definitely have to use the 12. The nice shot I have on hand. The ITX I will have to order. Both are short chambered Husky hammer guns.

Thoughts?

The man's prayer from the Red Green Show: "I'm a man, but I can change, if I have to. I guess."
skeettx
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:47 pm  Reply with quote

Take some of each, start out with what you have the most of. If the smaller shot size is NOT doing the dispatching, then move to a larger diameter.

Shoot for the heads and not the bodies.

Mike

good read
http://decoypro.com/best-spot-to-shoot-a-goose/

Last edited by skeettx on Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:58 pm; edited 3 times in total
UncleDanFan
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:07 pm  Reply with quote

Good advice Mike, thanks.

The man's prayer from the Red Green Show: "I'm a man, but I can change, if I have to. I guess."
pudelpointer
PostPosted: Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:51 pm  Reply with quote