16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. General Discussion  ~  TPLO surgery for dogs
Gran16
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 1:15 pm  Reply with quote

Anybody had any experience with the tplo surgery with their dogs? Took my 4 year old lab to the vet today she been limping for a few days and he said her ligaments in her knee are bad and this is probably the best option. Pretty bummed she is our best dog and does very well pheasant hunting for us.
Chicago
PostPosted: Fri Nov 04, 2016 3:45 pm  Reply with quote

There are several Vets that post here and hopefully they will reply for you. I have no experience with the surgery, but I would want a second opinion. Some of the Specialty Vet Centers do a good job with those types of injuries.

Good Hunting, and welcome to the board,
Mike
byrdog
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 6:04 am  Reply with quote

My old boy has arthritis and limps like he has displaisia . Local vet diagnosed same, recommended surgery. Second opinion diagnoses is arthritis ,and it runs in this line of Setters. Surgery was at least $1500.00 . Get another opinion for the sake of your dog.

If you take Cranberries and stew them like applesauce they taste much more like Prunes than Rhubarb does ----G.M/
cowdoc87
PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2016 9:51 am  Reply with quote

Cruciate injuries are very common in labs, and the tplo procedure is the only technique that has proven to be able to restore the knee to normal function. It's a procedure that has been around for around 20 years and is the gold standard. It's a fairly specialized procedure and there's quite an extensive training course to learn it. ( it ain't cheap) I'd recommend you use someone who does it a lot. They'll take some fairly specific X-rays before the surgery so they can get the correctly-sized plate and also measure the knee so they'll know how much to rotate the tibial plateau .Good luck

Gran16
PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 10:24 am  Reply with quote