16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. General Discussion  ~  What should I expect to pay for a Merkel 1620?
Dannyboy175
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2016 7:22 pm  Reply with quote

I was watching an auction on gunbroker.com for a Merkel 1620 with single trigger: http://www.gunbroker.com/item/602244186

It was relisted a few times with a lower minimum bid each time. It ended up selling for $3000 a little while ago. I was really on the fence about bidding on it. I kinda thought that I would have done a buy it now for $3000, but I figured that the other bidder would have bid it up a little. The blue book of gun values says that 100% is $4500 and 90% is $3060, and this gun looked to be in really good shape, although maybe an aftermarket recoil pad installed. I am generally trying to resist impulse buys, so I am glad that I had restraint here. That being said, was this a good price for the 1620? I'm thinking so, but I'm not an expert and my enthusiasm has resulting in me overpaying for auction guns in the past.

Also, how many 1620's are out there and potentially for sale? Are these like hens teeth and I should seriously consider buying the next one I come across if it is a good price? I don't need one today or tomorrow, but I can't find a single other 1620 currently listed in any online site.

Cheesy
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2016 7:45 pm  Reply with quote

I'd watched that one as well, the single trigger kept me away though. Seems like the ones I've seen are in the 3s that sell and 4s get relisted. thought I saw a double trigger listed here??? Or shotgunworld for $2500 double triggers, but went back to look a few hours later and couldn't find the listing. Good thing though, I then met my $6800 insurance deductible. Wife wouldn't have appreciated it.

Some advice I was given that makes sense to me, if it's what you want and like, what's a few hundred dollars matter. You'll enjoy it far more than the small amount you "saved"
JNW
PostPosted: Sun Dec 04, 2016 8:01 pm  Reply with quote