16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Want to try reloading
Kevingoetaski
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 1:15 pm  Reply with quote

Hey. I am new to the 16 gauge group, with purchasing the new A5 sweet sixteen. I already bought a couple cases of shells but being that they are priced so much higher than my 12 gauge I figured in long run this could save me money. I am curious on what kind of reloader, where to buy wads, primers, powder, and everything else. Even where to find recipes and if it is truly worth it. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Byron Whitlock
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:03 pm  Reply with quote

Welcome to the group Kevingoetaski. You will be able to find lots of good information on this site and especially in the reloading forum.
Most of us reload our ammo due to limited availability as much as high prices.
The main issue you will have is having to retrieve the hulls that your sweet 16 thows away! Wink

CZ Ringneck
Win. Model 12
Rem M11
Stevens 235
kennedy756
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:18 pm  Reply with quote

yep, reloading 16 ga is the only way to go, everyone will tell you to buy Lymans shotshell reloading book, listen to them!!. I buy powder, shot and primers locally to save freight and hazmat fees. wads can be easily bought on line and hulls can be saved from your factory ammo, or also bought on line.

16ga Browning A-5 1929
16ga Marlin 90 1939
16ga browning citori lightning grade 3 2003
16ga Francisque Darne 1920
PRONGHORNSOUTH
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 4:03 pm  Reply with quote

Welcome Kevin!
Unless you shoot a lot, it will take a while to recoup your initial investment.
The plus is, both loading quality ammo, and the joy of seeing it work! A lot more choices, if you load your own.
A Mec 600 Mk5 is a good simple machine, to begin with. Around + or - $190
Details on joining the Yahoo group is sure to follow…
Again Welcome ! Very Happy
Hootch
PostPosted: Fri Dec 09, 2016 4:19 pm  Reply with quote