16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Sellier & Bellot factory loads
Kiwishooter
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 12:12 am  Reply with quote

I'm hoping someone may have had some experience with the Sellier & Bellot factory loads. It is hard to find 16 gauge factory loads Downunder but Sellier & Bellot is one brand that is available. I need 65mm shells. Amongst the 6 or 7 16 gauge models S&B offer they have 2 that are 28g loads in 65mm. Both are paper cases, both felt wads one travelling a moderate 350 m/s, the other a tad faster at 380 m/s.

Can anyone offer any insight into these shells, their quality, preference in one speed over the other, issues with paper cases (hadn't planned to do any reloading but that plan may soon get updated)...?

Many thanks

Ross
clayflingythingy
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 7:08 am  Reply with quote

S&B shotshells are no longer available in the U.S. and I have no experience with their short 16's. I have used 12 gage S&B ammo and can report that it was good stuff based on my limited experience.

As to reloading paper shells, well, I have reloaded Federal 12 gage paper's. Unless you are really desparate I would have to say its not worth it. About two reloads were all I felt comfortable with the Federals and the crimps weren't really all that great so I wondered about uniformity.
hoashooter
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 6:50 pm  Reply with quote

Papers are more or less a mute deal here in the U.S. anymore--more trouble than they are worth.If you use the higher speed version erosion of the hull will be that much more accelerated.Have you given any thought to trimming plastic hulls and maybey even roll crimping to save space?????Do you want a target load???hunting load??????
longwalker
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:18 pm  Reply with quote