16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Guns  ~  ahfoxprats.com?
JoshS
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 8:10 am  Reply with quote

I came a crossed this site and was wondering if anyone here has any experience with MR. Barden, his shop, or building a barrel set or gun like this.

I have two sets of barrels for my fox, sk1/sk1 and m/f. I thought it would be a fun project to make a set of ic/m to cover the middle ground and have three sets. Maybe even get a kit and do a whole gun at some point. I'm just getting into older guns and have a Elsey and a fox. I still have a lot to learn. This would be a fun way to become intimately familiar with the fox boxlock. I've built a couple AR's and Bolt guns and really enjoy the process.

It looks like a decent deal for doing a barrel set but much more costly getting a kit to do vs finding a project gun. I would want to do the 16 ga. What are your thoughts on this?
16'er
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 8:53 am  Reply with quote

https://www.ahfoxparts.com/kits.html
fred lauer
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 9:52 am  Reply with quote

I'll just throw this out there before you invest anything into barrels you need to be very patient and very persistent with a file. Not telling you it can't be done but it's not for everybody. As I recall the extractors also need to be fit up, then when you are finished with that you are ready to polish and rust blue. If you are not a gunsmith or machinist it could end up being a big bite to chew. As far as adding value to the gun, you might break even but remember that it isn't numbered to the gun and has no collector value. Not to be a downer but something to think about. If you give it a shot, good luck to you.

67galaxie
PostPosted: Tue Oct 03, 2017 9:39 pm  Reply with quote

I'm looking hard at getting some wood from him for my 16. Only has beaver tail for ends though from old stock. Blah! I don't want to cut one down either
lowgun
PostPosted: Wed Oct 04, 2017 7:41 am  Reply with quote