16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. General Discussion  ~  Check out my new Remington 1100 16 ga full choke
Bromel
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:50 pm  Reply with quote

Hello everyone! I am new to the 16 gauge community due to my recent acquisition of a Remington 1100 16 gauge in full choke. I had been searching for a used Remington 1100 12 gauge to join my buddies for some pheasant hunting this coming fall, but I haven't had an extra $1,000 laying around, so I was mostly looking and learning.

Then, one day a few weeks ago I was at the range/gun shop and stopped to take a look at the used shotguns. They had this beauty on the shelf and it looks completely unused. There is almost no wear on the blueing and I would guess it is at 99%. Even the gas cylinder shows 100% blueing like it has never been shot! The wood is in beautiful shape with no scratches at all. I called Remington, and they told me that it was manufactured in April 1964. So my guess is that somebody found this in Grandpa's closet and sold it to the gun shop.

How much do you think I paid for this gem? And how much do you think it is worth?

skeettx
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:07 pm  Reply with quote

Hello Bromel
Welcome to the site on your first posting

A VENT rib 99% Remington 1100 is a treasure to find Shocked

Well done, well done

Mike

Bromel
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:13 pm  Reply with quote

skeettx wrote:
Hello Bromel
Welcome to the site on your first posting

A VENT rib 99% Remington 1100 is a treasure to find Shocked

Well done, well done

Mike

Thanks, Mike! Do you have any idea what the value of this gun might be? I know it is only worth the amount that someone is willing to pay. But I suspect that in the 16 gauge community there might be a good demand for this one. Just wondering if my impulsive purchase was really a good deal or not...
William J. siefert
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2018 1:16 pm  Reply with quote