16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  2 1/2" Shells in Auto 5
SoonerEd
PostPosted: Fri Apr 17, 2020 9:21 pm  Reply with quote

Just starting to reload for my sweet sixteen. In doing so I acquired almost 1,000 hulls. About 200+ are 2 1/2" that I loaded as follows. Got my short kit for my MEC 600 jr. a couple of weeks ago. So, this is my first try.

Cheditte hull
Fiocchi
20.1 gr Universal
7/8 oz 7 1/2 shot
SG16S wad

Loads crimped fine.

Only got to fire 11 test loads today to see if the would cycle my Auto-5.

One jambed.

Anyone know if 2 1/2 inch shells in an Auto-5 might create feeding issues? It's a 1960's sweet sixteen with a 2 3/4" chamber. I've never shot 2 1/2" shells in it in the 44 years that I've owned it. I would like to use the hulls for lite target loads but don't know if I should expect possible cycling issues.

Last edited by SoonerEd on Sun May 10, 2020 6:17 pm; edited 2 times in total
RGuill96971
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 6:11 am  Reply with quote

That’s the load I use except I use a cheddite primer. Make sure your crimp has a rounded edge, like a factory shell. I did experiment with less powder and it wasn’t enough to cycle. The 20 grains should cycle just fine. What kind of jam did you have? Maybe you just had a bad hull. It does happen from time to time. How’s your gun set up? Heavy or light loads.
Savage16
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 8:22 am  Reply with quote

http://www.rstshells.com/store/p/135-16-Ga-2-1/2-A-5-Type-Vel-1200-1-oz-Load-Case.aspx

The 2 1/2 inch shouldn't be the problem. RST's A5 specific load is in 2 1/2 in but one oz and at 1200. Whats the velocity of your 7/8oz?

John Singer
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 9:54 am  Reply with quote

I have a Savage 720 (Auto 5 clone) in 16 gauge. It does cycle 2 1/2" shells...sometimes.

It does fail to feed sometimes too.

RGuill96971
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2020 10:29 am  Reply with quote