16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. General Discussion  ~  Belgium Sweet 16 shell ejection problem.
SweetAndNot16
PostPosted: Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:50 pm  Reply with quote

I just started shooting my newly purchased Belgium sweet 16 and every time I fire the shell stays in the chamber and have to be manually ejected.

I’m not the most experienced with these guns but I know a little and I’m sure I have the rings set up correctly. Pushing the barrel down to change the rings is hard, much more difficult than my previous sweet. I figured it might need lubricated. May this be the problem and if so what product would you recommend? I don’t want to gunk it up.

Soggy socks
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2020 3:08 am  Reply with quote

Plenty of diagrams on the web, shouldn't be that hard pushing the barrel down. I am assuming you are pushing the barrel down to remove the forend and barrel for changing.
RGuill96971
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2020 3:53 am  Reply with quote

Sweet- are the springs new, if not do yourself a favor and replace the recoil spring and action spring. Make sure you use 30 weight oil on magazine tube. Just a tad. Don’t take much. Inspect extractors on breech block( bolt). One may be rounded/ broken if it’s an older one or if shot a bunch. Had that issue on last sweet 16 I got. If you have one of the fired shells you can look at the rim and see if the extractor is being pulled over it or actually grabbing it. Make sure you remove the breech block and inspect the springs (stiffness) for the extractors. The extractor should have a sharp edge. You can even put a shell on bolt face with bolt out of gun to see what’s going on. If you download the owners manual there are some instructions on this
SweetAndNot16
PostPosted: Wed Jun 03, 2020 5:31 am  Reply with quote

Soggy socks wrote:
I am assuming you are pushing the barrel down to remove the forend and barrel for changing.