16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Roster's ridiculous statement in Shooting Sportsman
MSM2019
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2022 4:16 pm  Reply with quote

I have a subscription to Shooting Sporstman for one reason, to read the articles by Wyochukar.....that's it.

In the January/February 2023 edition, Tom Roster states that putting a 2 3/4" load into a 2 1/2" hull and roll crimping will put the PSI over SAAMI max. First of all many of us have actually tried this, and no one that I know of has ever recorded higher pressures. I've seen them close to the same chamber pressure to about 500 PSI lower than a fold crimped load of the identical components, but never higher. He goes on to say it's because you have reduced the volume of the hull???? Really??? Total BS. This guy should know better than that and he produces reloading manuals??? He must consult with BPI.

This article is a perfect example of why I don't read magazines any more.

A finished 2 3/4" 12 gauge fold crimped hull is 2.330" plus or minus, depending on the hull, load,etc.

A finished 2 3/4" 16 gauge fold crimped hull is 2.360" plus or minus, depending on the hull, load,etc.

That leaves a fair amount of hull to roll over, after cutting it down to 2 1/2".

Sorry for the rant, but this kind of stuff is just uncalled for, especially from Roster. He obviously doesn't know what he thinks he knows.

I won't even start to comment on the keeping shells warm nonsense later in his article(article is being generous), he must only hunt in Mexico.

Last edited by MSM2019 on Mon Dec 26, 2022 4:59 pm; edited 1 time in total

MSM2019
PostPosted: Mon Dec 26, 2022 4:51 pm  Reply with quote

After further review.....

In Sept. 2021, I just happened to have reloaded 2 boxes of:

Remington RGL hull
Winchester 209
21.0 Grains 800-X
Claybuster CB0100-16 wad
1 oz. #7 magnum.

This load is right off the Hodgdon website. The difference between the two boxes one was fold crimped. The other box was roll crimped.