16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Mec short kit 16ga 2 3/4 to 2 1/2
probie
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2023 8:12 am  Reply with quote

Anyone try this before? Your just put this "Plate" on the press that fits over the pre & crimp stations & it allows you to now load 2 1/2" hulls. Seems that easy, fold crimps you have going for your standard 2 3/4" hulls will work now. Is it that easy ?
FallCreekFan
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2023 8:39 am  Reply with quote

That’s pretty much it. I’ve used one for years on my 600 Jr.
Even made one for my second 600.
MSM2019
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2023 9:05 am  Reply with quote

They work well. Even cuts down on adjustments with many loads.

probie
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2023 11:34 am  Reply with quote

Thanks guys. I guess thats a purchase then. My new hunting buddy has a 16 short chamber SxS thats been laid up for awhile; NO ammo available. I got a 16 Sizemaster.
robp
PostPosted: Mon Jan 23, 2023 12:03 pm  Reply with quote

I have made several with 1/4 " aluminum plates very easy fabrication project
Trace the base, mark holes, cut it with a jig saw drill and tap holes its 1/4 20 threads
sand the edges with a belt or disc sander and install 30 minute project if you can find your tools!
I always wondered why nobody drills and taps the center post to get the adjustment height. That's what mec does to adjust between 3" and 2 3/4 inch ammunition for 12 20 and 410
16gaDavis
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2023 8:26 am  Reply with quote

still use a pile of change - that allows me any change needed shell tp shell . Have loaded a PILE this way .

probie
PostPosted: Tue Jan 24, 2023 12:23 pm  Reply with quote

"still use a pile of change - that allows me any change needed shell tp shell . Have loaded a PILE this way ".

hahahah... read in some other blogs about that. Another guy used a quarter with a penny on top. American ingenuity hahah
putz463
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2023 3:35 am  Reply with quote

16gaDavis wrote: