16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  BP Wads- Bulging hulls
rdshorttjr
PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 8:24 am  Reply with quote

IS it me or are the BP Sporting 1 oz wads oversized? I have yet to find a 16 hull that will easily accept these wads. I have tried them in REM-Black, -WIN-Super-X, FED GAme load.
I cannot get evenly consistent seating ...these wads sometimes bulge the hull at the base of shotshell ????? Yesterday I loaded some of the REM Blue wads for 1 1/8 try load . Sweet!!!!!!
Last question, will these wad actually stretch your hull- to the point blowouts could occur on future reloading attempts? I have a brand new Lee Load All 16 loader.

Thanks RD
jig
PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 10:05 am  Reply with quote

Have not herad of that problem before. I have the exact same set up as you. I am new to shotshell reloading - but not reloading. The first question that comes my mind is: How hard are you reefing down on the handle when wad seating.There is a line between firmly seating the wad and crushing it. If you are compressing that wad too much when seating is the only thing I can think of that would cause that. Or, that you have 12GA wads your trying to fit in 16GA hull. Does the sack say G/BP Sporting 16 Guage on it?

when you seat the wad try and resist temptation to ressf real hard on the lee load all handle. I have loaded many shells since I received my Load all and have not experinced that with Federal or Remington hulls. I don't mean to presume I know anything about your technique, so please don't be insulted by this - just trying to think of what might be causing your problem as I have never yet seen that using the exact same components.
Ron Overberg
PostPosted: Sun Jan 07, 2007 10:22 am  Reply with quote

RD,