16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Remington SP16 wads
lonertoo
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 5:33 pm  Reply with quote

Since I'm new to loading shotshells (been loading metalic for a couple years) I've gat a couple questions I hope someone can clear up. Is there a big difference in SP16 wads (which I can find everywhere) versus WAA16 wads (which are as scarce as hensteeth) Alliant only specifies WAA16 in there load data. Also, is there a great difference between 1 1/8oz & 1oz as far as recoil goes using Unique? Sorry to sound so stupid!!!!!
hoashooter
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 6:15 pm  Reply with quote

16 gauge data is outdated in ANY manual-----The AA can be subbed for the SP16--but they are almost nonexistenst.What hull/components do you have on hand----????As far as the recoil for the 1/8 of shot--there is another factor or two---velocity of the load ,type of gun-o/u, auto ,l.o.p.etc
lonertoo
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 6:43 pm  Reply with quote

I was considering the Fiocchi hull from BPI. I have Green Dot & unique powder. I also have some Federal Super X game load hulls. I will be shooting an Ithaca 37. Probably shooting just for fun mainly using #8 or #9 shot.
hoashooter
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 6:46 pm  Reply with quote

Buy a flat of Remmy game game loads and load with Unique and the SP16
lonertoo
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 6:58 pm  Reply with quote

Would you use the 1 1/8 loads or 1oz & use a filler card?
hoashooter
PostPosted: Sun Jan 21, 2007 7:43 pm  Reply with quote

I use a 7/8 oz load with fillers/For a few bucks or less would send you some to try
lonertoo
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:24 am  Reply with quote

I just talked a friend of mine & he found some cards that supposedly will work. Thanks for all the info!
Popski
PostPosted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:49 pm  Reply with quote

To my knowledge the Win WAA16 wad was discontinued years ago and is unavailabe unless you have a stash. The Rem SP-16 is still around.