16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Powder Choice
USAFA 71
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 4:32 pm  Reply with quote

I reload for the 12/20/28, using H-Clays for target loads(7/8 oz and 1 oz) in the 12 ga, and H-Universal in the 20 and 28. I took the new Citori 16 ga out today, and with temperatures in the low 30s, my 1 oz loads with H-Universal seemed to leave a lot of unburned powder.

What powders do members recommend for 7/8 oz and 1 oz target loads? I will be using Fiocchi and Remington black hulls. I have the LPG data, but I was hoping to find something with a clean burning powder, like Clays. I have no experience with non-Hodgdon powders(ie Alliant/Winchester/Accurate). I appreciate any help. Very Happy
Dave Miles
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 5:17 pm  Reply with quote

I use mainly IMR SR-7625 and Longshot for my 16 gauge low pressure loads. And Longshot in my 28 gauge loads.

jim18611865
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 5:49 pm  Reply with quote

I have had the same experience as you. Since you have the LPG data, just try a faster powder than Univ. You will have to buy something though. There were no Clays recipies, but a couple of Red Dot. I am leery about using Red Dot though since there is little room for error. I am going to try Int. Clays (since I have an 8 lber sitting around) in a 7/8 oz. It just has to be cleaner. I will report when I do, but it may be a while.
mike campbell
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 7:18 pm  Reply with quote

Rolling Eyes

Last edited by mike campbell on Fri Jul 26, 2019 4:47 pm; edited 1 time in total
20m3s
PostPosted: Wed Jan 24, 2007 8:05 pm  Reply with quote

I hope I'm not hijacking USAFA71's thread, but I'm basically in the same boat.

I'm new to shotshell reloading, with a MEC sizemaster and a couple of newer Citoris to load for. I have lots of Fiocchi, Federal and black Remington hulls, Remington SP16 wads, the LPG data and manuals from the powder companies.