16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Hull Questions
xtimberman
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:09 am  Reply with quote

I've been reloading other shotshell gauges since 1978, but I'm brand new to reloading the 16ga. I'm finally sick and tired of having to buy the rhinocerous-killing 1 1/8 and 1 1/4oz. #4 stuff they have for sale in Mayberry, USA, when I accidentally run out of #8s. Yes, I've been told many times that #4s only kick half as bad as #8s.

I have a good supply of the blue 2 9/16" Fiocchi and Eley hulls to reload. Other than primer differences, Are these hulls dimensionally the same inside? They both appear to have a metal-clad base wad, and the plastic and brass look identical except for the headstamp.

My second question concerns the similarity between the purple 2 3/4" Federal and Estate hulls. Estate is owned by Federal, so these are identical - right?

Thanks in advance for your replies!

xtm
woodcock
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 9:52 am  Reply with quote

xT--The best answer for your question will be found on the 16 ga. reloading site. I'll look forward to finding out myself.
xtimberman
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 2:39 pm  Reply with quote

Thanks.

I sent a check to the Low Pressure Group just a week ago, so I should be getting load information soon enough. I was just trying to clarify some similarities and was wondering if they were interchangeable.

xtm
birddog
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 12:39 am  Reply with quote

XT,
Fiocchi is Italian and Eley is English. Unless Eley is buying from fiocchi?
Is that shell stamped 67mm, I've had trouble adjusting my mec to crimp these properly.
The Fed's and Estates are the same that I do know.
Good Luck
Charlie
xtimberman
PostPosted: Sat Feb 03, 2007 7:29 am  Reply with quote

birddog,

Thanks for the confirmation on the Fed./Estate question.