16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  hello, and question on wads
Dopey Fudd
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 6:14 pm  Reply with quote

Hi everyone, I am new here, but Very glad I foud you all.

My name is Dopey Fudd. I am an avid waterfowle. and a member of www.greatlakeswaterfowler.com .

I am a 99% of the time 16 ga shooter. my primary guns are a sportsman 48, and a 870 express youth.

I am just getting into reloading, and have already ran into an issue. I have bought eveything I need except for the wads.
I will be using 2 different recipies for my loads, for different uses, but not that different.

they will be:

1220 fps
5 shot (*for bunnies)
19.5-19.8 grains of hodgdon universal (dep. on wad)
209 win. primers
rem hulls

the other

1275fps
8shot, (dove, skeet)
20.5 grains of hodgdon universal
209 win. primers

my reloader is fully callibrated to run the first of these recipies.

but the issue I am running into is the wad. I cannot find 1 oz. wads.

as many of you know the winchester waa16 is discontinued.

the remington sp16 are for 1 1/8 oz. pretty much a mag load. which requires a different powder. and not the formula I am using. or add a buffer card below the shot.

I have found 2 other wads for 16 ga. but unable to find recipies. they are:

gualandi
16ga superg mini's

and

ballistic products sporting 16.
does anyone have any info on these wads? they both come in 1 oz.
or should I just use the sp16 with a shot buffer under the shot? and keep everything else the same/

proud member of:
OHIO WATERFOWL ASSOCIATION (official division 3 recruiter)

finger lakes western new york waterfowl association
RWG
PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 6:41 pm  Reply with quote