16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  What's the best digital scale for reloading?
tbk
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 3:51 pm  Reply with quote

I am just getting started reloading shotshells due to my 16 ga. passion. I have reloaded metallics in the past and am aware of the importance of a good scale. Due to aging eyes and arthritis an electronic/digital scale seems to make some sence. Could you experts please give me some advice on the best, most reliable and trouble free scale available. Would be willing to spend up to $300.00 (+ or -) for the right scale.

FYI I am activiely trying to join the low pressure group but seem to be making little head way. I am very anxiouse to access this invaluable resource. Any help there would also be appreciated.
Thanks.
tbk
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:03 pm  Reply with quote

I actually lurk on our site most of the time due to my weak typing skills but I am a member of the 16 ga. Society and was wondering why the logo was not included with my user name? Hope you guys can help me with a scale recomendation since I am itching to crank out some loads!
dogchaser37
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:00 pm  Reply with quote

Pact, Lyman, Dillon, Hornady, RCBS all make nice scales. I have had personal experience with the Dillon and Lyman, not a lot of difference. There are also powder measuring systems by the same companies, they actually weigh out each charge for you, for $250.00 or so. The scales run about $150.00 or cheaper. Dillons have a great warranty, and seem to be rugged.

My personal scale was made by Denver Instruments, too bad they aren't made anymore, they are extremely accurate and stable. Mine has been running since 1998, I never shut it off. If you can find a used one, buy it.
wingshooter
PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 9:14 pm  Reply with quote