16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. General Discussion  ~  Double Triggers on the Skeet Range
DougK
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 5:45 am  Reply with quote

I am looking to use my SxS with double trigger on the skeet range. Does anyone have any experieince with double triggers on the range? I am not looking for an excuse to get another gun, but am interested in the experieince, pitfalls ect.

Thanks,
Doug
Bronco
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 7:30 am  Reply with quote

DougK, I wouldn't call myself a skeet shooter, but get in maybe 6-8 rounds/month. I have been shooting my grandfather's 16ga M12 for the past 40 years but recently acquired a Chas. Smith & Sons 16 ga double with double triggers. Initially, it was more trouble to move my finger between triggers that shuck the pump gun, but I am starting to get the hang of it and this past Sunday afternoon managed a 20 in the blustering wind. The more I shoot it, the more natural it feels. I use the F bbl for the going away shots and the IC bbl for the close birds. Took some getting used to the auto safety, but I sure like not having to pick up hulls as the gun has extractors. Bob
hoashooter
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 1:55 pm  Reply with quote

I would guess this is your hunting gun which you are familiar with.By all means take it to the skeet range.I have one shooter who uses a two triggered 440 field gun with good results.
R. D. Gattis
PostPosted: Tue Jan 10, 2006 4:22 pm  Reply with quote

DougK,

Double triggers present no more problem on the skeet range than in the hunting field. I shoot skeet low gun exclusively with side-by-sides with double triggers in 20, 16 and 12 gauge (mostly 16). Of course, nearly 40 years of shooting only double triggers helps. I will frequently alternate shooting the front then the back trigger first just for drill on doubles.