16ga.com Forum Index
<  16ga. Ammunition & Reloading  ~  Winchester model 12; too well made...
Lemming
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 2:30 pm  Reply with quote

For the last 10 years or so, I've been searching for a Win model 12 in 16ga - very rare in the UK. Finally, I've got one (1936, solid rib, polychoke, all original blue; a real beauty) and it's an absolute joy to use.

But...

It works just fine with (expensive and hard-to-find here in the UK) factory ammo, but it simply won't chamber reloaded shells. If I do force them in, either the breech won't lock, or else the action bar jumps out of the breech block. It's not the brass end of the shell that's the problem. It's the plastic.

I use Fiocchi and Cheddite hulls, which chamber with no trouble at all in my 16ga SXS. Makes no difference whether I use plastic (SP16) or fiber wads. I've been reloading for repeaters for 30 years and never had a problem like this before.

My guess is that the chamber tolerances on the Model 12 are just too damn fine, and you can't resize plastic like you can brass/steel.

Does anyone have any suggestions? If I have to use factory ammo, the model 12 will get used once a month, instead of twice a week like I've been hoping these last 10 years...

Any help gratefully received.
pumpgun
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 3:43 pm  Reply with quote

One of my 16g M12's will cycle reloaded Cheddites, most of the time, and one won't. Issue is they swell on firing, and the plastic drags on the chamber, causing the extractors to slip off. But the fact that your gun won't even go into battery suggests a resizing issue; I've always been able to close these guns on a bunged-up crimp shell. Cut the plastic off a fired hull, and see if the action will close on the metal head.
dogchaser37
PostPosted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 4:14 pm  Reply with quote

Hi Lemming,

Are you roll crimping or fold crimping.